Anita Borg Change Agent Awards celebrate the accomplishments of three technical women from, and who work in, developing countries. These three awards are designed to recognize up-and-coming leaders that impact or advance women’s participation in technology, while also internationally expanding the reach of the Grace Hopper Celebration of Women in Computing.

Three individual Awards will be given to women in computing that:

  1. Demonstrate leadership within their communities
  2. Expand opportunities and influence the careers of girls and women in technology
  3. Demonstrate impact on advancing women’s participation in technology
  4. Establish the desire to attend the conference
  5. Demonstrate financial need

Each award includes reimbursement of expenses up to $5,000. This includes travel expenses to/from the conference, hotel accommodations, full conference registration, the opportunity to participate in a conference session, and recognition in the printed program at the 2012 Grace Hopper Celebration of Women in Computing. The award recipient will also take part in the awards celebration on October 4, 2012 in Baltimore, Maryland.

Professional women of all ages and education levels are encouraged to apply, provided they can demonstrate their impact on advancing women’s participation in technology. Applicants must articulate how their participation in the Grace Hopper Celebration of Women in Computing will support their work to promote active participation of women in information technology. Please read the complete details about this award in order to nominate yourself or others for consideration.


The goals of the award are to:

  • Continue and build on Anita Borg’s vision of women as equal partners in the development and use of computing around the world. For more about Anita Borg, our award namesake, click here.
  • Recognize the accomplishments of international change agents*, increase their visibility, and establish them as role models for others beyond their existing spheres of influence
  • Provide a forum – the Grace Hopper Celebration of Women in Computing– in order to exchange ideas, identify opportunities and areas for improvement, discuss effective practices, and meet hundreds of other women who share in Anita’s vision.

*A change agent is someone who either deliberately engages in social change, or whose work results in social, cultural or behavioral change.


2012 Nominations are now open. Only completed submissions will be considered by the committee.

  Introductory statement (Maximum 150 words) that summarize how the nominee satisfies the award criteria – provide an overview of the work, accomplishments, and country context.

  Biography of the nominee. This is not to exceed one page.

  Curriculum vitae or résumé that describes the nominee’s professional accomplishments.

  Statement of merit between 1 – 2 pages that must be written by the nominator. The statement must address the following:

  • The specified candidacy requirements and goals
  • Address and elaborate on all areas of competency as described in the Introductory Statement section.

  At least two letters of reference from professional contacts

  A one-page proposed budget describing your needs. The proposal must include the following:

  • Travel, lodging, and registration expenses
  • Any other additional expenses you would have related to attending the conference such as child care or meals.

The biography, curriculum vitae or résumé, statement of merit, letters of reference, and proposed budget must be in PDF, Microsoft Word, or text document available for upload. You will also submit contact information on the same nomination form. You may be asked to provide additional information or clarify information at the request of the committee chairperson.

Key Deadlines:

  • 2012 nominations now open – Deadline is May 15, 2012:
  • Nominators are notified in July
  • Award ceremony in Baltimore, Maryland: October, 2012


  • Dorcas Muthoni, OPENWORLD LTD, Chair


Please contact Tina Pratt

About the award

The Anita Borg Change Agent Awards program was generously established by Fran Allen, IBM Fellow, 2007 ACM A.M. Turing Award winner, and recipient of the 2006 ACM 2004 inaugural Anita Borg Technical Leadership Award. Fran is a current member of the Anita Borg Institute’s Advisory Committee.

Image via

Elsewhere on Ventures

Triangle arrow